Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Elly Stornebrink
    Participant

Hello Holliworks,

First of all congratulations on all those milestones with achieving what you did considering your accident! Secondly, in writing a book about it!  🙂

I’m not an expert in this; however, if I’m not mistaken, I think the subtitle needs to be more detailed/accurate so-to-speak in portraying the story of your book. Thus, I tend to like the more specific subtitles and ones that are also more general, i.e., in appealing to a wider audience. For example, I don’t ever want to run a marathon!  😉

Thus, the ones that I tend to lean towards are the following though you might wish to add the word ‘memoir’ in there somewhere:

A journey from accident to athlete –> A memoir of my journey from accident to athlete
    From accident to athlete –> A memoir from an accident to an athlete
    From crash to comeback –>A memoir from a crash to a comeback (I think I like this one least though)

However, I have to admit I am not crazy about your title ‘Get Out the Door’ as I don’t think it reflects your story/journey though I could be wrong, cause after all, I haven’t read it! On the other hand, it could be that the title is more vague. I suggest checking whether a title should be vague and a subtitle specific or vice versa or …something else. All the best with that and let me know when you find out – [email protected] – as I have writer’s block in writing my memoir.

holliworks
    Participant

I’m trying to come up with a subtitle for my book. Editing and interior design is done, and we’re working on the cover/jacket blurbs, etc…..but I still haven’t decided on a subtitle.

The book is about my journey from a motorcycle accident where If fractured my spine, and was told that I might not walk again. Over a 10-year period, I went from learning to stand and walk again, to:

• Running up the Empire State Building
    • Finishing the Assault on Mt. Mitchell 100-mile bike ride